Coming to America

By Septima Glenn

Some people travel across the country to go to college. Imagine going to a new country all together. Junior Tashana Willock did exactly that. A native of Kingston, Jamaica, Willock has made the United States her home for the last two years.

The road hasn’t been easy. Willock, who has been running since the age of five, used track and field as her ticket to higher education.

“It has taken a lot of hard work and many sacrifices for me to get here,” Willock said.

The sacrifices weren’t just from Tashana, but her mother as well.

“My mom was a single parent,” Willock said. But she always made a sacrifice to make sure I had what I wanted growing up. She is still my biggest inspiration.”

Even though the move to the United States has its benefits, Willock isn’t sure she’ll be here after graduation.

“The surroundings, the climate, everything is different here,” Willock said. “I’m really not sure if I’ll stay.”

The vast differences are what keep her going back home. From the cuisine to the people, according to Willock, everything is better in Jamaica.

“In Jamaica there is always something going on, people selling things on the streets or some kind of party,” Willock said. “Here there is nothing. If you don’t know anybody you’re all alone.”

The atmosphere isn’t the only thing that’s different in the states. Politics is another thing Willock see differently. Although the upcoming election is a hot topic to many, Willock doesn’t see what all the excitement is about.

“Obama, I don’t understand what all the fuss is about,” Willock said. “I’m not going to vote. I don’t get how this country works. I don’t vote back home, why should I vote here?”

 

