Election Day Vignette

Kimberly Colander

Prof Batts

JAC 404-01

Election Experience

A Moving Moment

      November 4, 2008 is expected to be one of the most important days in American history. I was not looking forward to Election Day because of all the stress I knew I would have to endure for the coverage and the line I knew I would have to face. But, it turned out to be something that wasn’t stressful. Instead, I felt a sense of pride and importance.

      My polling location was A.W.E. Bassette Elementary School in Hampton. My mother and I were arrived there at 8:30 am. The location was packed. It was extremely hard to find a park. Voters were circling around the school and some even parked blocks away and walked. It was rainy and cold but we stood in the line for an hour and a half to cast our ballot. The other voters were encouraging and shared umbrellas and stories of the importance of this election with each other.

      When I first arrived on the scene and realized that there were at least 300 people in line ahead of me, I felt discouraged and the weather didn’t make it any better. But the high spirits from the other enthusiastic voters eased my irritation. When I finally reached the inside of the building I became more excited about voting and it was like the importance of my vote hit me. I also became a little nervous that I may fill out my ballot incorrectly and my voice wouldn’t be heard. I know it was only four categories to vote for but it must have taking me five minutes to complete the ballot. I watched the people around me finish and new voters come and finish too. I just wanted to make sure that I was doing it right. I took in the moment because it was my first time ever voting.

      After I voted I felt very accomplished. My older sister sent me a text and said that I was now a woman because I voted. I think that the wait in the rain was worth for that feeling of significance. I only hope that my vote will help get Barack Obama elected and hope reshape our country.

