Celebration Ensues at Hampton University

by Septima Glenn

 

At 10:57pm, screams could be heard from across campus as students at Hampton University realized that Barack Obama was the new President-Elect of the United States of America. Fireworks went off, horns blew, students rushed into the streets and an all-night celebration ensued.

 

“I was hugging people I didn’t even know,” sophomore Margaret Harris said. “It feels like I’m in a movie right now. It just doesn’t feel real.”

 

Thousands of students crammed into the streets of the Harbors Apartment Complex. Located right across the street from campus, residents and students celebrated together as they realized history had been made.

 

“I am a part of history,” senior Rachel Lewis said. “I helped make this happen. Never in a million years would I have guessed this would happen.”

 

The crowd chanted “Obama” to the beat of music and continued their celebration until Hampton University police came to shut it down. The crowd was not deferred. Instead of shutting down the celebration and going back home, they migrated, this time to Hampton University’s Ogden Circle. Students flooded around the circle of nations to participate in what some couldn’t believe was true.”

 

“It’s like I see all the numbers and I know that John McCain has already congratulated him, but it still hasn’t hit me,” senior Brandon Jones said.

 

More chanting continued, but a hush came over the crowd as one of the car radios blasted Obama’s acceptance speech.

 

“The road ahead will be long. Our climb will be steep. We may not get there in one year or even in one term. But, America, I have never been more hopeful than I am tonight that we will get there. I promise you, we as a people will get there,” Obama said.

 

As the crowd in Chicago began chanting, “Yes we can! Yes we can!”, the students on campus joined in, filling the air with joyous optimism. The campus police followed the students to Ogden Circle and although the blue lights flashed, police let the students continue this time.

 

“It’s three of them against like thousands of us,” Sophomore Predist Walker said. “They mine as well just leave us alone. We’re not hurting anybody, we’re just having a good time.”

 

The rain began to softly fall from the skies but that didn’t stop the roars from the crowd. With Os in the air and fists to the sky, students sang, “I love I love I love my Obama… I love I love I love my Obama…”

 

“This is bigger than any party I’ve ever been to,” Lewis said. “People are mad hype and even though people’s shoes are getting stepped on and people are bumping into each other, no one is fighting. This is a great night.”

 

 

 

 

