Convocation ceremony has Hampton seniors all a twitter

By Stephanie Baynes

Five retweets within five minutes.

We live in a era where the level of excitement about a situation can be determined by the number of Twitter retweets it receives.

“Got my cap and gown!” Briana Brown tweeted. The arrival of her family members has had Brown extremely anxious all week.

“This is a big moment for me and it means so much to my family. It’s taken a lot for me to get this far,” she said. Brown is a senior broadcast journalism major from Atlanta.

She started her Hampton career as an entrepreneur major but Brown had a rough time finding her place at the university. “It took me a while to find out what I really loved to do. I made the right choice switching to journalism,” she said.

Opening Convocation is looked upon by students and the administration as the official start of the graduation process.

Standing in line inside McGrew Towers and checking his phone, Darren Campbell retweeted, “Got my cap and gown!” Campbell is a senior accounting major from Washington, D.C. His journey at Hampton has been filled with financial hardships. “Last year I didn’t think I would even be allowed back. I was blessed,” he said. Campbell used his financial problems to fuel his desire for success.

Campbell finished out his semester that year with a 3.5 grade point average out of a maximum 4.0. “My family is very proud of me; I’m proud of myself,” Campbell said “I’m the first college graduate. That’s big.”
The final retweet came from Jessica Sims: “Got my cap and gown!” she exclaimed. Sims is not the first in her family to graduate and she did not have to overcome and financial hardships, or any hardships for that matter.

“I’m just happy to graduate plain and simple.” said Sims. She is a psychology major from Baltimore, and like many of her peers she has family coming down for the special ceremony.

On Sunday the opening convocation ceremony will be held. This event is the introduction for the graduating seniors. Families from throughout the United States travel to hear the guest speakers and to see the soon-to-be graduates walk in their caps and gowns.

As other students throughout the night went on to tweet about receiving their caps and gowns the level of excitement about opening convocation became apparent. It all starts with a simple retweet, a small action that sets off a chain reaction of similar actions.

Whether they want to be the first in their family to graduate from college, or want to finish school for personal reasons, or simply want to graduate just to graduate, many Hampton seniors seem to have similar thoughts: Check Twitter.

The writer is a student at the Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications

