By David Woods
Courtney Dansby, a chemical engineer from Detroit, has enjoyed her time at Hampton University but is ready to start the next part of her life. She has learned many skills in the School of Engineering which have helped her get internships at Ford Motor Company and L’Oreal.
Hampton has given her so many opportunities for which she is truly grateful: “My time at Hampton University has been a true blessing; I have learned so much about myself, which has made me a better person. I’m nervous about graduating and going out into the real world but Hampton has taught me all the social and professional skills I need to exceed in my field.”
On Sunday seniors will sit in Ogden Hall in graduation regalia for Opening Convocation and reflect on their years at Hampton and what path life will take them after they graduate. This moment for many seniors is a surreal feeling; they are on their final journey into adulthood.
Said Dabney,“I am extremely excited for opening convocation it is one of the few times I get to be surrounded by all my classmates and professors as we celebrate making it this far in our academics. I am looking forward to her the speaker talk and hopefully he will motivate me and fellow classmates to finish off strong.”
Mandell Elm, a psychology major from Bronx, N.Y. said he is thrilled for Opening Convocation. He has been a member of the marching band and a residential assistant in Winona Hall. Like many students, Elms’ family is coming to share this important moment with him.
“When I was a underclassman at Hampton I never really paid much attention to Opening Convocation nor gave much thought about it,” he said. “As my senior year approached and I started to hear more and more about Convocation, I started to realize that I am about to graduate from college. It seems like yesterday I was a freshman and now I am a senior. Opening Convocation is going to be the motivation I need to push me through these last two semesters of college.”
Opening Convocation begins at 10 a.m. The event is free and open to the public.
The writer is a student in the Scripps Howard School of Journalism and Communications


